← Read the currency article

Sierra Leonean leone: research record

Evidence coverage: 1964–2023. This is the span of collected observations, not the currency’s lifetime.

This record includes associated currencies and earlier interpretations. The article selects the evidence relevant to its own history.

← Locate this currency on the tree
Currency continuity

Sierra Leonean leone

SLE · Research draft
One scoped currency identity. Changes to subdivisions, scale, standard, instruments or issuers do not by themselves create children. A distinct account unit can remain a successor.
Current currency in the inherited endpoint register.
Dated observations: 1964–2023; this does not establish the entire lifetime.

Parents / predecessors

West African Currency Board poundnational decimal currency replacement · 1964
↗

Children / successors

No distinct successor currency is established in the loaded view.

Siblings

Unit and issue records 1 records

Evidence within this identity, not separate currencies.

Sierra Leonean leone — continuity across rescalingFTM000645 · C416, C417, C418, C419, C427, C429, C431

Latest research

Modern account-unit review

Leone introduced4August1964 at10shillings; contemporary centralbank accounts use leones while WACB currency withdrawn. Original contemporary account history resolves succession; withdrawal endpoint not required.

Sources and qualifications →

Reforms within this currency

1 July 2022Redenominated as

Same leone continuity: 1 new unit replaces 1,000 old units.

C427, C431
Monetary history 4 events

Includes dated issues, standards, subdivisions and institutional changes. Each event retains the source's date qualifications.

4 August 1964First issue

The UN reports Sierra Leone introduced the leone on 4 August 1964, equal to ten shillings and subdivided into 100 cents.

C418
1 July 2022Rescaled cash launch

BSL’s newsletter reports new leone circulation on 1 July 2022 at one new unit for 1,000 old.

C427
December 2023; day not established by inspected sourceOld scale cash tender end

The IMF reports old-leone legal tender ended in December 2023; old notes remained exchangeable at BSL in its 2024 account.

C429
2024 IMF report: exchange at BSL continues; no present-day claimOld cash exchange observation

The IMF reports old-leone legal tender ended in December 2023; old notes remained exchangeable at BSL in its 2024 account.

C429
Evidence & research notes 8 claims

Dated observations, not a proven complete lifespan.

Inference C416

The Bank of Sierra Leone equates 240 old pence with two leones; its separate divide-the-pound-by-1.2 wording is inconsistent.

Corrected interpretation: Revision 27 supplies a new evidence basis for R0143. Original contemporary account history resolves succession; withdrawal endpoint not required. Replacement evidence: C1576.

Bank of Sierra Leone · Redenomination — Introduction Citation S193 · Open source ↗

Redenomination introduction, explicit examples

Source access and limitations

The phrase dividing the pound by 1.2 conflicts with the explicit pence examples; only the explicit 240-pence-to-two-leones equivalence is used.

Supported C417

The modern leone rescaling divides nominal amounts by 1,000.

Bank of Sierra Leone · Redenomination — Introduction Citation S193 · Open source ↗

Redenomination introduction, final paragraph

Source access and limitations

The phrase dividing the pound by 1.2 conflicts with the explicit pence examples; only the explicit 240-pence-to-two-leones equivalence is used.

Supported C418

The UN reports Sierra Leone introduced the leone on 4 August 1964, equal to ten shillings and subdivided into 100 cents.

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa · Economic Bulletin for Africa, Vol.VI No.1, January 1966 (E/CN.14/396) Citation S194 · Open source ↗

printed p.100, opening paragraph

Source access and limitations

Provides issue date and unit relationship; does not establish complete withdrawal/redemption rules.

Supported C419

The first central-bank statement, dated 31 August 1964, still held WACB notes and coins among its assets.

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa · Economic Bulletin for Africa, Vol.VI No.1, January 1966 (E/CN.14/396) Citation S194 · Open source ↗

printed p.100, opening paragraph; not proof of general legal tender

Source access and limitations

Provides issue date and unit relationship; does not establish complete withdrawal/redemption rules.

Supported C427

BSL’s newsletter reports new leone circulation on 1 July 2022 at one new unit for 1,000 old.

Bank of Sierra Leone, Financial Inclusion Secretariat · Financial Inclusion Newsletter, Issue No.1, Jan–Jun 2022 Citation S197 · Open source ↗

p.4, New Money, Same Value

Source access and limitations

Cover period ends June, while body reports 1 July circulation.

Use body for the event; publication date is not inferred from a later web crawl.

Supported C429

The IMF reports old-leone legal tender ended in December 2023; old notes remained exchangeable at BSL in its 2024 account.

International Monetary Fund · Sierra Leone: 2024 Article IV Consultation, IMF Country Report No.24/321 Citation S199 · Open source ↗

paragraph 34 and Box 5, pp.22–23

Source access and limitations

Old-leone tender ended in December 2023; report does not specify the day.

Continued BSL exchange is an observation as of the 2024 report, not a current guarantee.

Inference C431

The 2022 leone rescaling remains a same-line event; the old-note withdrawal does not terminate the leone continuity.

Bank of Sierra Leone, Financial Inclusion Secretariat · Financial Inclusion Newsletter, Issue No.1, Jan–Jun 2022 Citation S197 · Open source ↗

editorial synthesis of p.4 and S199 paragraph 34

Source access and limitations

Cover period ends June, while body reports 1 July circulation.

Use body for the event; publication date is not inferred from a later web crawl.

International Monetary Fund · Sierra Leone: 2024 Article IV Consultation, IMF Country Report No.24/321 Citation S199 · Open source ↗

paragraph 34

Source access and limitations

Old-leone tender ended in December 2023; report does not specify the day.

Continued BSL exchange is an observation as of the 2024 report, not a current guarantee.

Supported C1576

Leone introduced4August1964 at10shillings; contemporary centralbank accounts use leones while WACB currency withdrawn.

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa · Economic Bulletin for Africa, Vol.VI No.1, January 1966 (E/CN.14/396) Citation S194 · Open source ↗

Claim-specific locators in evidence register

Source access and limitations

Provides issue date and unit relationship; does not establish complete withdrawal/redemption rules.

Find a currency